using natural light… not always consistent

So today was the day when I had put aside some time to photograph my current stock of handwoven scarves not only to post on the web, but in preparation for a vending opportunity I have this summer with the Barnard’s Emporium at the Spencerville Mill. Unfortunately, the weather is quite overcast today, so the light is a little too diffused for an ideal photo shoot.  Still, I persevered and took photos using my DSLR, a tripod, a wrinkly sheet, and a foamcore display.

 

I’ll be honest, I’m not too happy with the results.  So why blog about it?  I think that it’s important to share failures along with successes; this is how we learn and grow.  We aren’t perfect, neither is Mother Nature. I couldn’t control the amount of sun (and the inconsistency thereof) coming through the window.  Also, the end table I used to support the foam display is far too obvious under the sheet, and picks up most of the light that happens to come through.  But, the wrinkles in the sheet do add a nice texture to the background, and the scarves drape nicely, creating a decent amount of light and shadow.

So, what did I learn from this?  I took about two dozen pictures, (I’ve only posted a handful here) and the session was pretty quick once everything was set up.  I definitely need to wait for a sunnier day to use the natural light and I should also be sure to add some fill lighting as well.  I welcome your feedback on the pics.  Thanks

Leave a Reply

